SOCIAL MEDIA

Friday Night Musings: Opportunities & Hobbies

Saturday, July 11, 2015
I feel like the last few Fridays have been a little personal and down, so let's try and turn a 180 into some cool stuff!

//woo hoo//

Today, just a couple hours ago, I got an email that could possibly change my life and could change the way I set things up for the rest of the year. It somewhat goes with one of my jobs (actually it does go with one of my jobs) and it honestly sounds like a really good idea. I don't want to go into too much depth about it, because while I know what it entails, I have solidified it yet. AKA I haven't told the bossman if I've taken it or not.

There are huge pro's and con's with this. If I take it, I probably won't be able to do all the traveling I've lined up to do later on this year, come Autumn and Winter. And I'll be on my own. But I'll be getting paid more. And I'll have a lot more options to do things on my own (since, ya know, I'll be on my own).

It's a risk I might be willing to take. We'll see in a few days once I've figured it out 100%. I'm known to be a real "back and forth" kind of person. Also I'm very well known to be very bad at making choices. But it's all part of adulting. Adulting sucks, but it happens.

Could be worse I suppose. At this point in time, I would probably take it. But since I don't know what I'm getting into, I'm holding off for a little bit.

--

I have a few hobbies. One of which turned into my other job. The one that pays a little more. Haha. I like making videos. Videography. I love making really crappy and shaky iPhone videos. I think it's so much fun. I despise the very first video I uploaded to my Vimeo account because I have a few clips in there that are there more than once. Repeats. It's pretty embarrassing, especially because it was of my best friend's house over June of 2014. And the music just cuts off.

The second video is a little better? I think. It's of a field that I was walking in with a family friend on the way back from some little event thing. It's really pretty. But I wish I was somehow skilled enough in iMovie to get it so the music also doesn't cut off.

It's abrupt and I hate it. So it's more things to work on. But I like editing movie clips and whatnot. It's something I could see as a small hobby. I don't think I ever want to go into videography professionally.

I saw this post on Tumblr maybe a month or so ago, and it was this girl who has Synesthesia, and she would listen to music while she painted, and the outcome would be these extraordinary paintings. I thought about giving that a go a few times, and it's actually sort of cool? I don't talk about having Synesthesia often.

What is Synesthesia, you ask?

Click -> there <-

No one has it the same.

I don't taste sounds nor do I think shapes have sounds.

I hear colors. And everyone is a color to me.

I listen to music when I paint and I paint what I hear. Things have colors to me. Sounds have color to me. People are colors to me. Sometimes, and this is probably just ironic, the color that I associate with a person or with their voice is their favorite color.

It's sort of funny.

I'll tell them what color they sound like or what color I say they are, and then they'll be like "Whoa, that's like.. my favorite color!".

But it's way annoying when someone's all like "WHAT COLOR IS THIS?", "WHAT COLOR ARE THEY?", "WHAT COLOR IS THAT PART OF THIS SONG?".

Chill.

I also love playlists.

Like... I love them.

I love making them for myself, for friends, for a mood I might be in in the future, for what I think about people, for an event, for anything. I love making playlists.

I have an account on 8tracks that I would really like to use, especially because I have a billion of them on my iTunes. I'd love to get them out into the world so everyone can see them. Also I have a great taste in music. I love my music taste.

Honestly, I don't even know why I like making them. But going through my iTunes library (when I can) and putting songs into a mix is so great. It's like a mix CD that you'd give to your crush in the 90's. It's not exactly old school, but saying "hey I made a playlist of songs that make me think of you because you're so great" is... so great.

I love it.

Also I'm a sap. I've accepted that, especially because I'll most likely always be a sap. Except it may also be a little cliche. And I hate cliches.

Forever contradicting myself. Sometimes.

Anyway, Happy Friday. Have a bomb weekend y'all.

xx

Post a Comment