If you knew me last year, you'll know that I picked up volleyball as a recreational thing that I'd do when my body was being a little bit nicer to me than usual.
I started playing with some people... sometime in April of 2014 or so. I played it when I was everywhere, most notably when I lived in the good ol' Pacific Northwest. So it's been about a year since I started playing. There was a break when I stopped playing in October or so, mostly so I could focus on school and work and adult life (always so much fun).
But about ten of us girls, myself included, decided to put up a volleyball net that was around here and we played volleyball yesterday for a few hours. And it was so weird getting back into playing it when I hadn't been in seven months.
So needless to say, I'm a little bit rusty on my serve. Go figure. (;
I'm also feeling a little nostalgic.
Last year when we played, I was with a big group of people who all were over the age of twenty one. So sometimes they would go to a bar to do a "pre game warm up" thing. And even if I was over twenty one, I probably wouldn't go into a bar anyway. Bars and taverns and what have you aren't my thing. I'd rather get wastypants in the comfort of my house*.
So while they would pre game, I would sit in the car and I'd pretty much do the same exact thing every single time like clockwork**.
I would listen to the song Detlef Schrempf by Band of Horses*** and text the guy I liked at the time. With him specifically, I could pretty easily gage when he would be off work and when I could talk to him.
Idk. I really liked him at the time and it really seemed (to me) that he liked me back. To the point where I pulled the "assertive" card (lmao) and asked him if he liked me. Like a crush. Specifically, I asked him "Do you like me? As in a crush?" and I think it's so sad that I remember that haha. But almost every single day I would text him and listen to that song.
And our text conversations would last pretty much from then until he went to bed. He was really cool because he lived in the state I grew up in (though he didn't grow up there) so I always thought that there was a lot of potential.
We never dated. Not once. And that's okay. Later on during the summer, he basically found someone more convenient for him. And that's okay too. Sure the timing of it was awful and I was really bitter and sad and pissed off about it, but you get over it.
Back to volleyball, there was a small break that we took for a few weeks and when we started up playing again, it brought back sad memories of playing that song and texting the guy I liked. I couldn't listen to that song and by that time I had deleted the guy's number so it was weird. Like it gave me a weird feeling, like I shouldn't be doing that. I ended up not listening to that song for a really long time****.
But pretty much after that was when life started to get really super great. When one door shuts, another door opens. AKA probably the coolest person ever. AKA some stupid cute stud muffin.
And the first volleyball of the year. With an entirely different group of people.
My main point of this post is that time is really weird. A whole year will change and you'll think to yourself "Whoa, that happened a year ago?!" and it did. It really did. Everything that I mentioned above, about volleyball pre gaming and texting a guy and listening to a song. It all happened one year ago.
And it's so crazy amazing to see what's happened in my life since May 18th, 2014.
A lot of bad has happened, but also a lot of good has happened. Haha yeah, I would never think that I would be HERE, where I currently am right now, one year ago. It was never once a thought in my mind. But I'm okay with where I am. I'm not playing volleyball in the same location I was at last year (or locations, I should say). I'm somewhere completely different. Do I like it? Well, it was the first time so it's too soon to tell but I don't hate it.
Time is weird. Life is weird. People are weird. Music is weird. Texting is weird. Pre gaming is very weird. Memories are weird.
One thing doesn't change, though.
The pain of playing volleyball for the first time in months is so real and it's going to eat you. The pain sucks. I don't know what I was expecting, honestly. Again... go figure. Haha!
But the girls I was with had a lot of fun. We all totally suck but it was fun over serving and the tall girls spiking it at each other. By no means are we all pro (that'd be a laugh) but it's a lot of fun.
loveyoumissyouall xxx
* = Drunk Lily is a gift and you all should meet her.
** = I usually always do the same thing every single day at the same exact time.
*** = Other than Detlef Schrempf being the COOLEST BASKETBALL PLAYER EVER, this is my second favorite song of all time, bar none.
**** = Oh, and guess what? Not only can I listen to this song again, but I can blare it. Except it's an extremely mellow song. Love love love it. Listen to it here.
Post a Comment