SOCIAL MEDIA

Friday Night Musings: Reset

Saturday, August 1, 2015
Okay. I'm a little bit afraid of making this post because some of my friends might feel like I'm attacking them. And that's not the case. What I'm going to muse about tonight is not about one person or two people or five people in particular. I don't want my Facebook friends specifically thinking I did this because I don't like them or whatever.

Actually.. total opposite. I love my friends. I love all my friends and I'm so flipping thankful for them. Which is why I did what I did, honestly.

Today I finally got sick of something.

I got sick of seeing my Facebook news feed. I got sick of seeing what people were posting and uploading. None of it was bad, let me be clear. My friends are great and post lovely things.

But I also purposely don't have a lot of friends on Facebook. Honestly, I have less than 100 friends on there. I don't like Facebook and I'm really boring. Those combined make it so I don't want to have friends on there. I'm boring and annoying and no one wants to be my friend and see that crap.

But something inside me snapped and I started thinking to myself "I literally don't care about what these people post. I don't care what they did, I don't care about cats*, I don't care about birds**, I don't care about music***, I don't care, I don't care, I don't care. Can y'all PLEASE change your settings to your statuses and pictures to where I can't see them?! I don't want to see this junk on my feed!****". Idk. I've been in a really cranky, grumpy, and all around bad mood this entire week and I just can't shake it.

And I wanted to unfriend people. But then I also thought "Okay. That might make people freak out a little, having a friend less than what they have. And then I'd have to explain why, and that could get messy. And I can't deal with confronting people. I don't want to do that".

So then I backed away for about.. ten or so minutes. And then I thought (for the millionth time) "Hey. I know something that will let me have my cake and eat it too! I can just delete my Facebook for a little bit! I'll be off Facebook and I won't have to see anything and my friends are still friends with me!".

So I deactivated my Facebook account today. And I don't miss it. I really don't. I hate Facebook so much and I hardly ever use it. So with my FB time being non existent now, I can do what I've been doing for only the last few months.

I can keep on working and focusing on myself.

Having time to yourself is great. Working on yourself is great. Finding good things within you is great. It's an awesome feeling to be out in the world (even though the world I'm in now is pretty small, but I'll be out in the REAL WORLD on August 17th... go me!) and doing things that will better you and get you far in life. I'm surrounded by good people here. I've made friends here. I've done things here that I haven't ever done in my life.

So I'm really excited and looking forward to using what I've been gaining here and putting it to use in the "real world". Things are going to be so much better next month (AKA tomorrow.. what whaaat!!) and I think I'm going to continue not being on social media as often as I would. Honestly.. I don't really remember what "life was like" before I came here. I know I did things, but I also remember being so absorbed in what was happening on Tumblr and Twitter and seeing hot selfies on Instagram.

I don't want to be on social media as much as I was before. The amount of refreshing that I was doing on platforms was asinine. So I'm making this a sort of "reset", if you will. I'll eventually get back on Facebook (gotta update homies what I do somehow!), but it won't be tomorrow or the next day. I'm making a personal goal to keep it deactivated until I get back home (on the 17th) so we'll see if I make that goal. I really hope I do.

I don't think my Facebook friends are going to have a problem with this. Odds are they can email me or message me or text me. There are a few ways of reaching me that isn't on Facebook. I can now see why people deactivate or delete social media accounts and start over. That metaphoric reset button is a nice one.

Unrelated but I do this now in my posts, I guess: The Bath & Body Works scent I'm wearing today and tonight is Secret Wonderland. It's online only, and you can get it in the body cream, lotion, perfume, and shower gel. It's heavenly. It's fruity and floral and I love wearing it. I might try wearing it also in the wintertime. The packaging reminds me of a winter night. Who knows.

To resets and smelling good.





















xx

* = I like cats. But I would never have one as a pet. I hate cats as pets. I'm a dog person. Not sorry 'bout it.
** = I actually love birds. I love birds so much. I actually ask people if they like birds. Birds for the win.
*** = Obvs I care about music.
**** = It's not actual junk. People are sharing part of their lives to their friends, me included. What my friends post is not actual junk. I love when my friends post pictures of what they're doing and posting statuses about what they're doing. Did you go to the mall today? That's awesome! You took a picture of a cool car you saw, or a picture of a tree? I'm glad you're sharing that cool car or a tree! But honestly... I need to make more friends to balance it out! Haha when you don't have a lot of friends, you end up seeing a lot of the same things! I truly love my friends. And again, I don't want anyone to feel personally attacked. Y'all are great and I love you so much. And besides... you probably think my stuff is junk too. I totally understand it. What did I say about me being boring?! I literally have no life!

Post a Comment