Hey.
So.. I didn't blog last night. And I'm sorry for that. I have a good reason, I promise.
//hopes for people to accept this reason//
//praying//
It was my last full week here, and now tomorrow is my last actual full day here. Yesterday was a lot of paperwork and doing things and starting on packing and talking to people and I don't know.. would "debriefing" be good word choice?
We'll just say that it is for the sake of the post.
But today is Saturday afternoon and here I am, blogging, because well.. I have nothing else to do, frankly. I mean, I went hiking, but that's about it.
Idk I'm going to be mushy and reflect a little on my time here.
--
I wasn't expecting much coming in here. I KNOW I still haven't said where I am and I'm still not. My friends/people who know me know, and that's really all that needs to be known. I wasn't expecting much, I didn't have high hopes, and I didn't want to make friends.
I leave with obtaining a VERY good friend who might as well just be best friend status and extremely high thoughts for where I was. I've made so much growth, both personally and not personally, and I'm so much better of a person now than I was just four short months ago. Yeah I was in a good place in more than one way... but I'm in a great place now.
Great > Good
And that's really one of the main points of being here.
To grow and thrive as a person. To rely on yourself more than others.
Was it worth it?
Absolutely.
Would I do it again?
Probably not, but that doesn't mean I hated it.
^ yeah, I didn't love it but I didn't downright hate it. I hit the wall, metaphorically, and I wanted to go home, but I didn't. Like the true warrior princess that I am, I stuck it out. And it was worth it.
I learned so much about myself and the things that I can do in life. I've asserted myself more times here than I probably ever have before. I accomplished things and tackled obstacles head on.
I'm proud of myself. And I don't say that too often about myself. I've really made sure to make 2015 the year about me, and I've said it before, but making this my 'selfish' year has caused friend breakups, but it's also allowed me to make new friends where old friends once were. Do I regret breaking up with anyone? Not at all. I never would have been able to do that a year ago*. And I'm glad I can be someone who can do that if need be.
I don't want to friend breakup with people anymore. Yes I can do it, but that doesn't mean it doesn't feel good. It feels awful, but it's worth it.
--
Things are good right now. On Tuesday, I'm going to hop a plane to Hawaii and hang out with my AMAZING mama** for two weeks. I think the last time I saw her in the flesh was last summer when I was in Texas. So it's been too long. Once those two weeks are up, it's straight into classes and work starting. Needless to say, I'm actually excited to get back out there and become a normal and functioning*** member of society again.
I especially can't wait to leave here on Monday and drive down to meet up with some family and friends, including the roommate that I had up until she left a week before I'm slated to. So.. last Monday. I got a new roomie the same day my original one left, and oh my GOSH I want to strangle her. She is awful scum trash and I hate her so much. I just want to choke her in her sleep. But then I think logically: "Okay Lily, here are your options. You can strangle your roommate to death BUT you'll also wind up going to jail for forever and not ever get to go to Hawaii, be a member of society again, OR email that really cute missionary you have heart eyes over. OR you can choose to deal with your crappy roommate, take the high road, go to Hawaii, be part of society again, AND email that cute missionary boy!"
So.. guess who's happily**** dealing with her roommate?
Me.
Because common sense.
Bath & Body Works scent of the day is Sea Island Cotton. It's literally my favorite scent, hands down. Splendid summer scent (alliteration ftw), it smells like the beach and vacation, and it isn't overbearing. I have it in a lot of things. Two body creams, two full sized lotions, two full sized perfumes, one and a half (working on one) shower gels, travel sized perfume, and travel sized lotion. I probably have the soaps laying around my house somewhere.
Literally the best scent ever. And it's pretty much a classic; you can find it in stores and online. I've been using my triple moisture body cream the most before I move on to my ultra shea body cream, just because I've had it last summer and I don't want it laying around for another year and risk it going back. Usually the lotions hold up longer than the creams.
Saturday afternoons are the life, y'all. I'm in a hammock right now. I love hammocks.
I love y'all.
I'm going back to my regularly scheduled fashion posts and such as well.
VACATION EDITION!
xxx
* = I couldn't do a lot of things a year ago.
** = Yeah I call my mom 'mama'. What of it, man? #thuglife
*** = LOL more like "a person who does the best they can" member of society.
**** = Oh yeah. I'm the happiest in the land....
Post a Comment